The #DCMOOC Is My Oyster

Blue Earth In Child's HandsThe late great Canadian communications theorist and media guru, Marshall McLuhan, once stated that, “one of the effects of living with electric information is that we live habitually in a state of information overload. There’s always more than you can cope with.”

Since his passing in 1980 – the advent of the Internet and unprecedented explosion in information, communication and digital technologies, has helped solidify McLuhan’s reputation as both prophet and 20th century philosopher king.

To further reinforce McLuhan’s point – I am creating this post while: listening to James Taylor’s greatest hits via YouTube, monitoring my Facebook, Twitter and email feeds, consulting Wikipedia and conversing, periodically, face-to-face with my 19 year-old daughter.

So why then, am I so excited about immersing myself into another electronic endeavor or digital distraction? The answer – DCMOOC (Digital Citizenship Massive Open Online Course). Led by Dr. Alec Couros, professor of educational technology and media studies at the Faculty of Education, University of Regina, the DCMOOC is free and open to virtually anyone on the planet with access to a computer and the Internet.

The concept for the DCMOOC originated from Saskatchewan’s Action Plan to Address Bullying and Cyberbullying and one of its key components – the support and promotion of digital citizenship instruction for K-12 students in Saskatchewan schools. Since the DCMOOC may contain upwards of 1000 registered participants – the learning model will follow a Connectivist format

My wish is that the DCMOOC will allow me to share and exchange digital citizenship ideas and resources with other learners around the world. Ultimately, I hope my interactions with my fellow online MOOC-mates will help support and nuture my new venture – Michael Redfearn Consulting.

To paraphrase Shakespeare, I dive into this bold initiative by envisioning the DCMOOC as my oyster, which I with computer and keyboard will open.

Why, then the world is my oyster, 
Which I with sword will open. 
(2.2.3-4), Pistol to Falstaff
From Shakespeare’s The Merry Wives of Windsor

You can follow my DCMOOC exploits and learnings via this blog, my Twitter feed – @redfearn and the Twitter hashtag: #DCMOOC. Let the habitual state of information overload begin . . . or, continue!

Related Link: DCMOOC Web site

Photo Credit: Blue Earth in Child’s Hands

2 Comments on “The #DCMOOC Is My Oyster”

  1. I like your blog, the mix of faith, digitality, and literature/communications. Nice to meet you and I’ll be sure to read your #dcmooc posts.

  2. Anonymous says:

    @shuanathoughts – Thanks for your kind words.


Leave a Reply

