One more Angel in Heaven

Himalayas

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance

Never settle for the path of least resistance

Living might mean taking chances
But they’re worth taking.

I Hope You Dance, Lee Ann Womack

Scott Weiler was so much more than a wonderful teacher and mentor. He was the most gentle, humble and caring human being I have ever met.

The shocking news of his sudden passing while traveling in India is a lightning bolt to the hearts of all who knew and worked with him.

My heart is like lead but is comforted by the fact that I have special memories of Scott to sustain me and I am heartened in the knowledge that Scott enriched the lives of numerous students and teachers during his brief time with us.

Scott lived life with a passion that translated into everything he did, whether it was in the classroom mentoring students, on the sports field coaching or cheering on the Celtic athletes, traversing the globe or just hanging with friends.

I had the honor and privilege of working with Scott for two years at St. David catholic secondary school. His upbeat attitude and wonderful sense of humor were infectious. I always looked forward to and will never forget our silly greetings – my greeting for him – SCOTTY! and his boisterous – RRRRRRRRR! in response – whenever we met within or outside of the school.

Scott Weiler

That he was pursuing one of his fondest passions, world travel, when he passed on, is both a fitting and comforting irony for his family and friends.

God must have chosen Scotty at this moment in time for an important role. His spirit is probably soaring somewhere near a Himalayan peak right now, free, unfettered . . . at peace . . . which is perhaps Scotty’s way of saying to his family and friends that “wherever you are in your life journey, take heart, have courage, dance like nobody’s watching, follow your dreams and never look back.”

Photo Credits:

Little Byte of Luck (Himalayas)

Scott Weiler – The Record

Related Links:

Waterloo teacher dies on Nepal trip

Obituary – The Record

7 Comments on “One more Angel in Heaven”

  1. lynn weiler says:

    I am Scott’s sister. We happened to find this blog tonight and were overwhelmed by how well your words described our feelings in a way that we are simply unable to articulate. Scott was a true character and it brings us so much joy to hear about how much others cared about him as much as we did. And that others put up with his crazy antics! I shouldn’t talk because it’s likely genetic. Thank you for your beautiful words. We laughed and cried when we read them aloud.

  2. mcluhansghost says:

    Lynn, my deepest condolences to you and your family on the loss of Scott.

    That my words were a source of comfort for you at this most difficult time warms my heart.

    May God cradle you and your family in the palm of His hand.

    Peace,
    Mike

  3. Marilisa and Richard Racine says:

    My husband and I were friends with Scotty and through busy lives lost touch. We were extremely saddened to here of his death.
    Your wonderful story let us know that Scotty’s beautiful spirit had not changed. Thanks for letting us know that.
    Our payers go out to the Weiler family.
    Lots of love from Richard and Marilisa Racine

  4. Annamae Elliott says:

    You have always had a magnificent way with words, Mike. You’ve captured Scott in exactly the way I will always remember him.

  5. Katja und Urs says:

    We were dancing together close to these mountains.

  6. joren says:

    Words fail me. I can’t yet talk outloud. Someday maybe. What I want you to know is the joy I have in knowing Mr. Weiler and the sorrow I feel for you in your loss.

  7. Mike says:

    Joren, hang on to that joy and be hopeful. Mr. Weiler’s spirit will help you find your voice again.


Leave a Reply

